County Awards Evening 2023

On Thursday 8th June, nearly 70 volunteers from across the County and our local Trefoil Guilds came together for the Middlesex North West County’s Awards Evening held at our County campsite – Willow Tree Centre. We were thrilled to be joined by members of our Trefoil Guild tonight, made all the more special as they celebrate their 80 years this year. We look forward to hearing about what will be doing to celebrate and sharing this with the County.

This event celebrated the achievements of our volunteers and said thank you for all their time and commitment to our young members. Among the awards presented that evening we were delighted to celebrate 40, 50 and 60 year Long Service Awards!

Willow Tree Centre looked wonderful with bunting, tables decorated with flowers made by 16h Harrow Guide Unit and a rolling display of shout outs submitted online by volunteers.

The evening opened with some words from the County Commissioner Team, Jennifer Maidment, Marian Brown and Jade Fardon who reflected on all that has happened since they took on their roles a year ago. They gave thanks to volunteers for their time and commitment to our young members and talked about the many inspiring volunteers they had met. They went on to announce the relaunch of the Jack Petchey Award and plans to create County Awards for County members to nominate volunteers.

63 Long Service Awards were presented over the year. The following Long Service Awards were presented at the awards evening.

5 year Long Service Awards

  • Abi Carlen
  • Aneeka Ul-Haq
  • Georgia Goatson
  • Kimberley Fernandes
  • Rachael Daley
  • Claire Ross
  • Hannah Green
  • Imelda O’Halloran
  • Lucy Garner
  • Nicola McGeady
  • Verity Lomas

10 year Long Service Awards

  • Alice Mulvenna
  • Rhian Bowler
  • Tony Kilshaw
  • Helen Boyes

20 year Long Service Awards

  • Andrea Alleyne
  • Corrie Irwin
  • Sam Beard

30 year Long Service Award

  • Nicola Cowen

40 year Long Service Awards

  • Ann Simon
  • Nicky Fantham

50 year Long Service Awards

  • Jenny Brazier
  • Kathy Greaves
  • Lynn Birch 

60 year Long Service Awards

  • Brenda Tilbury

With the new Leadership Qualification coming into force later this year, there has been a flurry of volunteers completing their Qualification with seven awarded. We were delighted to present two recent completions at the evening.

Leadership Qualification

  • Gail Doré
  • Verity Lomas

We hosted a Region Peer Educator training at Willow Tree in February of this year, and we now have two qualified Peer Educators in the County who have been busy visiting units and Abi Carlen achieved her Bronze Peer Educator Award which was awarded at the Awards evening.

We also recognised our Hillingdon Community Awards winners, presented their certificates at a special ceremony with the Mayor of Hillingdon back in March. You can read the full blog post here.

Hillingdon Community Awards

Helping Communities Award:

Christine Mills

For outstanding service to Girlguiding within the Ruislip-Northwood Division and Willow Tree Centre.

Corrie Irwin

For her work with Ruislip District and as chair of the children’s charity Orchyd (that many of our volunteers in Ruislip are also involved with)

Helping Communities Award: Bronze

Nicola McGeady

For her efforts running Rainbow and Brownie units and taking on the role of District Commissioner of Ruislip-Windmill District.

We had a special thank you for Christine Mills who was recently recognised locally for her commitment to Girlguiding and we wanted to celebrate here tonight as a County.

There was a buzz of the room as volunteers enjoyed the opportunity to catch up with new or old friends and tuck into our cake, fruit and refreshments. Every volunteer went away with flowers, a Thank You badge and a Maricas Makeover fundraising badge.

We are grateful to Tesco Community Champion for providing refreshments for the evening which nicely complimented home made cakes from Nicky Fantham and Chris Hughes.

A big thanks to the Awards and Recognition Committee – Marian Brown, Lynn Birch, Nicky Fantham, Chris Hughes for organising a fantastic evening.

(To download images from our gallery, select your chosen image, click the arrow in the top right corner and select download.)