County Awards Evening 2024

On Thursday 6th June 2024, nearly 60 volunteers from across the County and our local Trefoil Guilds came together for the Middlesex North West County’s Awards Evening held at our County campsite – Willow Tree Centre.

This event, held during Volunteers Week, was an opportunity to say thank you to our volunteers and to celebrate the achievements of our volunteers. 

The County Commissioner Team, Jennifer Maidment, Marian Brown and Jade Fardon thanked the volunteers for their continued commitment to Girlguiding. They also announced the new Region 1 and 3 year long service year awards, a wonderful new initiative to thank some of our newer volunteers.

Also mentioned were volunteers who had been finalists or won local awards. We had four members selected as Finalists for Harrow Heroes. Abi Carlen (Harrow and Pinner), Emma Calderbank (Wealdstone) Jade Fardon (Harrow and Pinner) and Lynn Clifford (Wealdstone). Jade was then announced as the winner for her category. You can read the full blog here.

For Hillingdon Community awards we also had four members.
Helen Hutchings (Uxbridge Division), Andrew Terry and Samantha Hood (both Heathrow Division) were awarded Silver with Michelle Saunders (Heathrow Division) winning Bronze. A special mention was made for Sam who wasn’t able to make the Hillingdon Community Awards ceremony. You can read the full blog here.

Huge congratulations to all our winners.

For 2023/24 academic year, 34 Long Service Awards were due to be presented. The following Long Service Awards were presented at the awards evening.

3 Year Long Service
Piper Ryan

5 Year Long Service
Alan Ferris
Ciara Moran
Clare Walker
Gina Glossop
Janina Zachopoulous-Butler

10 Year Long Service
Becca Tofari
Hannah Woods
Laura Shalet
Stacey Tepper

20 Year Long Service
Michelle Saunders
Roberta Diamond

30 Year Long Service
Julie Bwye
Sharon Cargill

50 Year Long Service
Marjorie Brooks

In September 2023, Jack Petchey was relaunched and so far 45 worthy young members and adults have been announced as winners. Some of adult Jack Petchey winners were awarded this evening.

Jack Petchey
Elizabeth Hornal
Lucy Barratt
Lucy Garner
Piper Ryan

There has been a record numbers of volunteers completing their Qualification with 11 awarded since the last Awards evening. We were delighted to present two recent completions at the evening. We also celebrated the successful completion of a Going Away Scheme.

Leadership Qualification
Shivani Gaind

Liz Boyes

To finish the evening there was a special Thank You for Jess Green for all her work with Willow Tree Campsite.

Volunteers then enjoyed the opportunity to catch up and tuck into our cake, and refreshments provided by Tesco Community Champion with some home made cakes from Nicky Fantham and Chris Hughes.

A big thanks to the Awards and Recognition Committee – Marian Brown, Lynn Birch, Nicky Fantham, Chris Hughes for organising a fantastic evening.